My last hurrah before I become a grown-up

Uncategorized

Like I said in my last post, I was offered my first job and accepted it the other week. It’s at a company called ESM Solutions in Warrington which is very close to home for me and I begin June 4th. I’m so excited to begin this next chapter in my life and I think its going to be a great experience.

However, until then, I am making the most of my last week as a free bird. Tuesday I set off on a 4 day road trip with two of my best friends. I’m so excited! Here is our approximate route:

We are leaving early Tuesday morning, spending nights in Boston MA, Burlington VT and Niagara Falls Canada. We plan to stop along the way in CT (not sure where yet, maybe Gillette State Park in East Haddam or just anywhere that looks cool), Newport RI, Portmouth NH, Boston MA, Portland ME, Huntington VT (Camel’s Hump State Park) Niagara Falls Canada and maybe Cooperstown NY (Baseball Hall of Fame) but that’s a maybe. Its a very short time to get all these places in, we’re going to be super tired, we get home very later Friday night and I start work on Monday.

I’m a super excited about this trip! Our plan is to take the scenic routes and not the highways mostly because we just want to see the beauty of New England. We’ll be traveling along the coast line on the way North and we tried to plan the route so we hit as many mountain ish places on the way West to Niagara Falls. We would rather that, then take the highways where we see nothing. If anyone had been up in these areas and has suggestions for things to do/places to see let me know! I spent some time in B&N today looking at travel books and I bought two maps =)

But I found a good book which I didn’t buy, I did, however; sit and read over for a little bit and it gave some good sites to see in these places and places to eat. We’re trying to do this on a slight budget. I may start work on June 4th but my friends are not as lucky as me so we want to try and limit the excess spending. One thing I have always wanted to do was go to some of the places they feature on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives so we did look up some of those places and we’ll try and stop at these places and most of those are on the cheaper side. I plan to take a lot of pictures so I will definitely share some of those with you so expect that in the next post.

Other than that, I’ve been a little more successful figuring out how to work wordpress. I’m just waiting on my Uncle to give me the passwords to access his account so I can install the database to his host. I’m still in the process of working on the business cards but I’m not sure if she’s going to go through with them so I’ve sort of put them aside for now. I have been working on another project though for another one of my Aunts to give to her boss as a gift. This is the reverse side where I do the cutting.

And here is the final cut out. I will eventually glue it onto a dark gray paper and frame it in a black frame but I have to find the right shade of grey.

After it’s framed I’ll post another picture for you. This is one of the more wordier designs I’ve cut out so far. It was very time consuming doing all the lettering and very hard on the fingers. I think I’ve learned from this one I need to put some sort of padding on my right middle finger while cutting because I literally lose the feeling it in for about 2 days after cutting one of my designs.

Well I think that’s it for this week. Tomorrow is my last day at my part-time job (I put my 2 weeks in because of my new full-time job =] ), Monday if Memorial Day so I have a BBQ and Tuesday we’re off. My next post may be rather long because I plan to make buffalo chicken dip for Monday and some breakfast pastries for the road trip (budget, remember.) so I may post of baking recipes too. Oh wow. Well have a nice Memorial Day/Weekend everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

