It’s been a busy few weeks.

Recipes

It’s been awhile since my last post and I apologize for that, but I started my new job 2 weeks ago and this got pushed to the very back burner. It’s been quite an adjustment going from waking up at 7am to hit the road and travel the New England to waking up at 7am to hit the road to travel 10 minutes to work. Yes, my commute is probably the best I can ask for but I’m still adjusting to being a full-time grown up.

The job is going really well. I’ve been given a lot of tasks because I was hired at a very crucial time. My company is going through a lot of changes so I’ll be busy for the next few months. It is very exciting though and I have enjoyed the experience so far.

So a few weeks ago, maybe even longer I did a recipe off my pinterest “yummy in my tummy” board. So going way back to a much older post, to my list I get to double check #4 off my list. Wow kinda really slacked on that list huh..? Well I hopefully will get to check some more off it.

  1. Chrisy’s wedding Paper Cut completed
  2. Peter Callesen inspired Paper Cut
  3. Minimalism Harry Potter Book Covers
  4. Make at least one pin on my ‘Yummy in my Tummy’ board completed twice
  5. Complete one project on my ‘Art to-do list’ board
  6. Chrisy’s wedding place cards completed
  7. Wiggles n Wags website
  8. Email blast for UMFOD

Anyway, awhile ago I made stuffed peppers using a recipe off pinterest and they were pretty good. Here is the recipe I started with but I didn’t really follow it completely.

  • Olive Oil ( I used Tahitian lime olive oil)
  • 1/2 lb lean ground turkey breast
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 1 heaping tbsp of homemade taco seasoning (or you can use the packaged type if you like)
  • 2 cups of cooked rice (any type you like – I like brown)
  • 3-4 organic bell peppers, halved and seeds removed
  • 1 can of black beans, drained & rinsed
  • ½ cup of organic frozen corn
  • 1 (15 -16 ounce) jar of salsa (my favorite is mango peach)
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Toppings:
  • fresh cilantro
  • sour cream
  • sliced avocado

When I lived up in NY as a nanny I cooked all the time. I did the cooking for the whole family so I cooked at least 4 times a week, since then I haven’t cooked a lot so I kinda lost my knack for it. I totally forgot to put rice in my stuffed peppers. Whoops. But here is what I did do:

Pre heat the oven to 400 degrees and lightly coat the sliced peppers with olive oil and roast in a baking dish about 20-25 minutes just until cooked thru. Remove the peppers from the oven and allow to cool until you are ready to fill them.

While the peppers are in the oven separately cook the turkey and onions until cooked through. When both are cooked combine with the corn, beans (I left this out because I don’t like beans) and rice (which I let out because I didn’t have cooked rice prepared- so if you’d like to add rice cook it ahead of time or buy the easy cook rice and then add). Also add in the taco seasoning. I didn’t have seasoning so I made my own. And by that I mean I grabbed a bunch of seasonings (onion powder, chili powder, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, oregano, cumin, salt and pepper) and that worked pretty well. I mixed it all right in the skillet.

After mixing everything together, spoon the turkey mixture into each bell pepper half. Cook the peppers for another 15-20 minutes or until the peppers are cooked all the way through. When the peppers are almost done, sprinkle a little cheese on the top and place back in until the cheese it melted. Top with cilantro and some sour cream.

They turned out really well. So well that my sister made them again the next week.

I also worked on another paper cut project for my aunt. She wanted to give her boss a gift. He had just had brain surgery and everyone was giving him very normal, conventional gifts and she wanted to do something different so I suggested a paper cut illustration. Here is the project.

And the final cut is here. My aunt decided to frame it herself so this is just the paper.

This was my most wordy project yet. It was a little challenging, very tough on the fingers but I think it turned out very well. The only issue I had was with the gluing. I may have to rethink my gluing process to make it easier so I have better outcomes.

But after doing this project I definitely realized I want to do more of them. Just for fun or for people. Awhile ago I added a store page to my website spomykacz.com so hopefully more people will want me to do these. As you now I have a slight addiction to pinterest, so I have also created a board for new quotes and such that I want to use in my next paper cuts. Hopefully I will start to use my weekends for this.

Leave a Reply

