Is honesty the best policy?

Uncategorized

So today was the start of my 4th weeks at ESM Solutions. It doesn’t seem like I’ve been there that long but it also does. I know that doesn’t make sense. But time has really flown by and I can’t believe it’s already week 4. On the other hand, I am a lot more comfortable that I expected to be at this point so it seems like its been a lot more than 4 weeks. Make more sense now? Like I’ve said, I am the only GD at the company which is exciting and scary but so far its been nothing but positive feedback. I’m getting to do a lot more stuff then I thought. Of course as a graphic designer you expect to do the brand designing and all sorts of collateral, website stuff maybe, but I’m also getting to do a lot more. Its really a good experience.

This past Saturday I went to the Manayunk Arts Fest. I don’t do a lot of things like that, although I really should. But I went with my sister and it was really cool. Of course I couldn’t afford half the stuff there but I saw some pretty cool work. I bought something from this one guy who had shrunk his work down onto cards so I could afford those. Charlie Barton.

I remember back in 20th Century Art class where Gene suggested if we invest money in anything, it should be art. Ever since then I did decide that I would start to collect art, but right now just isn’t the time for me to be spending money on that. But here are some of the business cards I collected so you can see the awesome work too, and in case you’d like to start collecting =)

Greg Turco Photography. I almost bought the second photo on this page with the records.

Charles Cushing Fine Art. I actually did buy something from this guy. The first print on this page of Connie Mack Stadium for my dad.

And this is not quite art but more craft. But since I’ve pinned this kind of stuff enough I thought it was cool. Although I do have to admit I bought two of them even though I know they are totally simple to make. Mitch Gale Brandles.

But after enjoying a nice sunny day in Manayunk I did decide, I’m going to be a little more active in the art world. So I’m going to plan a few museum trips and look into some other stuff to do on the weekends.

You must be wondering what the title of this post is about since nothing so far has been about honesty. I got an email the other day from Linkedin with some of their news articles. These emails are the kind that I skim down and only click on the links with catchy titles or interesting picture, yes I am guilty of that. But I have 4 email accounts feeding into my iPhone mail and I just don’t have time to read everything I get via email because I typically wake up to about 15 new emails every morning. But anyway the article that caught my eye was called “The World’s First Completely Honest Resume of a Graphic Designer”. I didn’t know what to expect at first, what sort of honesty this person was going to write about. After the first paragraph I thought, “Okay, so this is creative. This guys chose to layout a resume in paragraph form. Some people would frown upon this, especially for a graphic designer and if this wasn’t featured in a linkedin email, I probably would have skipped over it as a HR director myself, but it was so I’ll continue.” It was when I got to the job description about Lucid Concepts that I was intrigued. “I loved everything about this company and regret I only worked there three short years. It was run on chaos in the morning, hear in the afternoon and Ritalin at night, all qualities for producing great design.” I loved this part because although I’ve only been out in the field for four weeks and I’m not working at an agency where this would apply more, I completely understand this. You don’t have to be in the field to relate, we were all students we know too.

Obviously at this point I realized this is not meant to be serious but I love how relatable it is as a designer. When he talks about the bad direct mail design and not putting it in his portfolio. We all have those pieces.

My favorite though is the last line. Skills: All the computer skills known to man, except for Microsoft Word. That is where graphic design goes to lay down and die. This is the perfect closer. I’m currently in the process of rebranding all the collateral material at work, producing templates and such for inter-office use. I do everything in adobe programs. I do my layouts in InDesign and Illustrator and everything else in Illustrator. I know Word and the other Microsoft Office programs but I’m rusty when it comes to doing things in these programs because I rarely use them anymore. So transferring the templates I design into files that are accessible in the Microsoft programs is going to require some research. Whoops.

Leave a Reply

