Salty Toffee Bark

Recipes

This week has been crazy. My sister has become my new personal trainer and she’s taking her job very seriously. I’m in bed by like 9:30 every night. I haven’t been to bed that early since I was like 10. This is the first time in a week I’ve sat down and relaxed. So I figured I’d take that time to share some things with you.

First, I receive emails every so often from LinkedIn with articles which are rather interesting at times and there was one I found interesting. This article mentioned that Facebook was going to come out with a job board. Makes sense yes, because with the newer social networking sites such as LinkedIn that have these features, Facebook needs to stay competitive. If Facebook had a job board, maybe some people would think to not get a  LinkedIn account. I have to admit, LinkedIn is not one of my favorite networking sites. I joined it because I was told it was something I should have after graduating college. And I understand why, but I got a job and now I hardly even go on it. I also read something somewhere that said you should use LinkedIn even when you don’t need to be using it. This way when you do need to go back and use it, it is more effective. I think there are some people that would not get a LinkedIn account if Facebook got a job board but I also know that most people would. One of the main things my teachers in college stressed was to keep Facebook separate from your job search. Which is the reason I think that this job board will be unsuccessful.

People ages 10-80+ are on Facebook and they use it to share photos and things about their life to their friends. Majority of the people on facebook have things on there that they would never want a potential employee to see. Facebook will probably make it so your profile is separate from your ‘job profile’ or however they will do it but to be honest, I find it much easier to have a networking site for personal reasons and another site for professional reasons.

I think that Facebook needs to move in this direction but I don’t think this will end up working.

On another note, I made this awesomely delicious toffee bark the other week that I have to share with you. I saw a version of it on pinterest but made a slight alteration to the recipe. Unfortunately my first attempt completely failed so I’d like to share my mistakes with you so you don’t have the same problem as I did. So I decided to call this Salty Toffee Bark- the pinterest version uses saltines.. which I’m sure would be great too, but I used pretzels snaps. Here’s what you need:

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup unsalted butter

a bag of pretzels snaps

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350. Melt the sugar and butter on the stove until is boils. Reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 5-6 minutes or until mixture is thickened and sugar is completely dissolved.

While the butter sugar mixture is heating take a cookie sheet and line with wax paper. Here was my mistake. You have to spray the wax with non-stick spray but be very generous. When I was finished and tried to remove the toffee from the wax paper I was unsuccessful. So be generous with the non-stick spray. After you spray the wax paper generously lay out pretzel snaps side by side on the baking sheet.

Pour the butter sugar mixture over the pretzels as evenly as possible. Its hard to spread the mixture after you pour it because the pretzels will move so try to be as even as possible. Then bake for 8-10 minutes until the mixture is bubbly. Keep an eye on it while its in the oven. My wax paper started to bubble and made all the pretzels shift. I haven’t remade these after my mistake but I might try poking a few holes in the wax paper to avoid the bubbling.

After you remove from the oven let it cool for about 5 minutes and sprinkle the chocolate chips over top. Again try and be as even as possible, the chips are easier to spread but the pretzels still shift a little. After spreading the chocolate I put it into the fridge to cool, I think this really helped because when I went to break the bark into pieces the chocolate was still melty. But of course I had trouble for a different reason..

I was able to salvage some of it but just for my own consumption =) Wax paper is clear, so even though I thought I removed the wax paper, I couldn’t really be sure. And I didn’t really wanted to take it to the party I made them for, for fear that I would be feeding people wax paper. But the pieces that I ate were just freaking delicious and I will definitely be making this again, hopefully with more success.

Good luck and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

