Zucchini Boats

Recipes, Uncategorized

I know its been awhile, my excuse is only that I was sick and very busy. But I made these awesome Sausage Zucchini Boats last night for dinner and I wanted to share the recipe with you.

Now I was half way through making them when I remembered to take pictures.. sorry I was very hungry so you’ll have to make due with mostly written notes. Whoops.

Here’s what you need for 6 servings:

3 Zucchinis (try and buy decent sized ones)
approx 16oz ground sausage (or turkey, beef, whatever you want really)
1/4 of a yellow onion
1 tsp of crushed garlic
about a half a bag of spinach leaves (not sure how much exactly I just put in however much I wanted)
about 1 cup of tomato sauce
1/2 cup of low fat mozzarella cheese (I’m trying to eat healthy so I went with low fat)
olive oil

*I’m very experimental with my ingredients so sorry if the measurements aren’t exact. (and like I said I was hungry so I wasn’t keeping track of exactly what I was doing.

So start with preheating the oven to 400 and start boiling a big pot of water (you’ll use this to quickly boil the zucchinis, so make sure its big enough that all the zucchini halves will fit and be submerged). I like to do all my dicing at once, so I started with the zucchini. Cut each zucchini in half long ways and use a melon baller of spoon to scoop out a little bowl down the length of each zucchini half. Chop up all the zucchini guts and put to the side. Chop the onion up and set aside as well.

When the water is boiling submerge the zucchini halves for just about a minute. Of course I started cooking before I realized my 9×13 pan was not available so I used 2 pans but 9×13 works best. Watever pan you’re using you just want to coat the bottom with some tomato sauce, just enough to cover. When the minute is up take each half out and lay into the pan so they all fit.

I cooked the veggies and sausage at about the same time. So oil two pans and start browning the sausage in one and the crushed garlic in another. Add the onions to the garlic until they are just about cooked through and then add the zucchini. Cook for about 3 more minutes. I then added the spinach and mixed around. I didn’t cooked the spinach until it was wilted because I wanted it to finish cooking in the oven. So once the spinach is a little cooked just pull the pan off the stove and let sit.

I added salt and pepper to the sausage and strained it so there wasn’t a lot of juice after cooking and then I combined it with the veggies. Once you have all that combined, use a spoon to scoop the sausage mix into the zucchini boats. Fill each one evenly.

I then spooned some tomato sauce over each boat and sprinkled lightly with cheese. Cover the pan with foil and bake for about 35 minutes. And enjoy!

I found this recipe on pinterest of course and modified it for my taste. The recipe I followed said that each boat was 150 calories which is really good. All I did was substitute spinach for peppers and didn’t necessarily follow her measurements. And one boat was certainly enough.

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Boats

Leave a Reply

