Hurricane Sandy

Uncategorized

My plan for this week was to make pumpkin oatmeal cookies on Tuesday to bring into work for Halloween, but fortunately I lost power and was unable to make them- and yes I mean fortunately. Not because I didn’t want to make these cookies and share the wonderful recipe with you all here. I say fortunately because power was the only thing I lost this week. This of course is not that first time a natural disaster has brought down a city/cities but I’m from PA, and I grew up going to the NJ beaches and visited NYC very often. This time it has hit home, literally.

The first day, Tuesday, I wasn’t able to watch the news- no power- so I wasn’t aware of all the destruction that Sandy caused, but once I was able to watch a TV and access the internet the photos were heartbreaking. My heart goes out to all the people that lost more than I did.

I know I’ve shared this website before but I think a lot of Brandon’s photos show the emotion of what happened and also tell the stories of the people of New York.

I’m going to keep this post short and just end it by saying- you should be thankful for what you have, because very easily and very quickly it can be taken away from you. I want to say thank you to all the first responders who selflessly risked their lives to save others.

Leave a Reply

