Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipes, Uncategorized

Fall is my absolute favorite season. There is so much about the Fall that just makes me so happy.

1. I love the weather. I’m one of those few people that hates the summer because I hate the heat. I’m usually the one who is always hot no matter how cold it is. I love that Fall has the perfect temperature- the other day I sat outside by a fire and it was so nice.

2. Speaking of the weather, I love to snuggle up in comfy clothes and Fall clothes are the best. The colors are my favorite, I love Fall palettes. But I also love the style of Fall. Scarves that you wear more for fashion than for warmth. Sweaters are also my new favorite thing. I’ve recently bought many sweaters. And most of all boots. I have a major shoe obsession which only emphasizes my boot obsession. I recently bought a pair of brown boots that I’ve been looking for for 2 years. They are the kind of boots that you will spend a lot of money on if they are exactly what you want. Well I’ve been looking for a pair of no heel, cognac, knee high, with not too many “gadgets” boots for about 2 years, so I bought these shoes without even asking the price. :/ whoops.

3. Another reason that Fall is the best, is because of the activities. Fall activities are the best. Now, I haven’t gotten around to doing many Fall activities this year but they are the best. Pumpkin picking, haunted hayrides and houses, Halloween, bonfires. Everything in the Fall is just so much fun.

4. Unlike most people I don’t like adding pumpkin flavor to everything but there are certain things that I do like pumpkin flavored. So when I stumbled upon a recipe for pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I wasn’t sure if I would like them but oatmeal cookies are my favorite so I decided to make them to bring into work as a “Happy Halloween” treat. However, thanks to Hurricane Sandy and the lack of power at my house I couldn’t make it for Halloween but I did make them. And they were delish. I doubled the recipe and made a lot! Then I had to get them out of the house so I wouldn’t eat them all so I gave them out to a few friends who found them equally as delicious.

So in case you’re looking for a delicious Fall cookie to make here is the recipe..

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 egg
1 cup pumpkin
1-3/4 cups rolled oats
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup raisins or chopped nuts, or combination of both (optional) I didn’t add these because I thought they would be too much but its up to you
additional chocolate chips or Baker’s chocolate to melt for drizzle (optional) I didn’t do this either because I didn’t have any but it would certainly taste great
Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and sugar.  Add the butter and mix.  Add the egg and pumpkin and mix.  Add the oats and chocolate chips (and nuts/raisins) and stir to combine.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator until the dough is firm (30-45 minutes).
On a greased baking sheet, scoop the dough into cookies.  Bake for approximately 15 minutes until the tops of the cookies are lightly browned.  Do not over bake. Cool on rack. Drizzle with melted chocolate after cooled, if desired.

I doubled the recipe because I wasn’t sure how many it would make. It made a lot of one batch is probably plenty. Doubled, I think I did about 5-6 baking sheets.

I didn’t count but two cookie sheets apparently makes 30 and one batch would certainly have made two cookie sheets.

The recipe emphasizes not to over cook them, well that made me scared and I think I may have undercooked them. Of course undercooked cookies are never bad.. that’s why cookie dough tastes so good. They were a little cakey which I think would be solved by cooking them a little longer but again, cakey is not necessarily a bad thing either, like I said they were still delicious.

Happy Fall =)

Leave a Reply

