Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

Recipes

I hope everyone’s been keeping to their new years resolutions. I’ve been trying to change up my workout routine to make keeping my resolutions a littler easier so I’m going to start going to kickboxing class 2-3 times a week instead of once, which I’m really excited about. I’m also going to be getting a hand-me-down kickboxing bag (that’s in great shape) from an old teacher- so I’m very excited about that as well.

And of course there’s the food. I like to make my meals and do leftovers because cooking during the week is just too hard. So I sort of created a list of meals to make in the coming weeks, that’s kind of weird- I know, but it works for me. So this week I made Chicken Tacos and I also made Salmon Burgers and froze them for the days I have nothing made for dinner, I can just pull a burger out and thaw it during the day. So the first time I do that I’ll post a picture and the recipe. I tried something new and kind of made it up so hopefully we both won’t be disappointed.

But back to the Chicken Tacos… One thing I hardly ever use is the crock pot- I found out this weekend that I should be using it a whole lot more. If you can’t cook, the crock pot could be your best friend. Literally just throw a bunch of stuff in there and let it go. This weekend I made chicken tacos. The crock pot is really good for making shredded chicken because it just falls apart when you’re done cooking it.

What you need:

The crock pot of course
6 whole boneless chicken breasts (or however much you need to feed whoever)
1 jar of salsa
1/2 packet of taco seasoning
Tortillas
Lettuce
Avocado
Sour Cream/Hummas
Any other taco toppings you want (I went for the healthier ones)

Now pay attention because this is really difficult..

1. Put the chicken, taco seasoning and jar of salsa in the crock pot and cook on high for 4-6 hours or low for 6-8 hours.

That’s it, I know, so hard. I was home throughout the day so I occasionally stirred things around a bit.

2. After you removed the chicken from the crock pot you can use a fork or two to shred the chicken.

3. Break out the tortillas and start building yourself a taco.

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

The chicken alone is just so good, I will probably use that crock pot chicken recipe in the future for other things besides tacos.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

