Maple Bacon Monkey Bread Minis

Desserts, Recipes

Do I have your mouth watering already? I think I started one of my last post by saying “Who doesn’t love cheese?”. Well, who doesn’t love bacon?! Seriously. Just imagine a nice stack of pancakes drizzled with maple syrup and a few pieces of bacon laying next to it soaking up all that extra syrup. I’m sure your mouth is watering now..

When I was younger I used to go camping every year with my family, it was always a big group of people and every year my mommom would make monkey bread. Now, if you’ve never heard of monkey bread you’re crazy and if you’ve never had monkey bread, well you’re even crazier. And once those were out they sure didn’t last. I never really thought it was a big thing though. I think, as a kid I thought it was my mommom’s secret recipe that she invented and that nobody else knew about. It’s not. I see recipes for monkey bread all the time now, different versions from the traditional cinnamon sugar ones to ones stuffed with mozzarella, top with garlic and dipped in marinara. Well, I made something different as well.  I sort of combined 2 different recipes to make my own version of them and I’m calling it “Maple Bacon Monkey Bread” because well who doesn’t like bacon drenched in maple syrup?! I wanted to make a breakfast dessert for Easter morning so what could be better? It was a hit.

What you’ll need:

For the bread

  • 3 tubes pilsbury buttermilk biscuits
  • 1/4 c melted butter
  • 1 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

( I ended up using more sugar and cinnamon but its easy to add once you run out and thats better than wasting extra you don’t use)

For the toppings

  • 2Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp cream
  • 4 to however-much-you-want cooked bacon, crumbled

1. Preheated oven to 350 and GENEROUSLY grease a 12-cup muffin tin. In a bowl, toss together the cinnamon and sugar.

2. Cut each roll into 6 pieces and dip each in butter (for bread), then dip in the cinnamon/sugar mix. Place all 6 pieces into one muffin cup. Repeat with remaining. (My minis weren’t quite mini though. In the future I may cut the biscuits into 6 pieces but only use 4 pieces for each mini. This would cut the tubes down- instead of 3 tubes making 24 minis, you could have 3 tubes make 36 or you could use 2 tubes to make 24)

3. In a saucepan melt butter (for toppings) over medium heat. Add maple syrup and cook for 3 minutes. Add the cream and cook another minute or so. Remove from heat and carefully spoon mixture over dough balls making sure they get coated well. Sprinkle crumbed bacon on top.

4. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Let cool before you remove from pan.

5. Enjoy!

Maple Bacon Monkey Bread Minis: Sara Pomykacz's Blog

Lets be clear, this was my first time making monkey bread. The cinnamon sugar on mine sort of melted and dripped to the bottom so the bottoms were really sticky and sugary, while the top wasn’t so much. I’ll have to figure out the solution to that (maybe packed the individual dough balls tighter into the cups..?) but other then that they turned out pretty good and were delicious.

Leave a Reply

