Spaghetti Squash Chicken Pad Thai

Dinners, Graphic Design, Recipes

As an artist, I would say the worst and most frustrating thing is hitting a creative block. I’ve had my fair share, as any artist will agree they have as well. But the other day, I had the worst one I’ve had yet. I blanked on everything. Lots of people say just to stop what you’re doing and move onto something else- but that didn’t help because I was stuck on everything.

So I pulled out all my art books, my design magazines, my random inspiration collections I had with me in my office and just spend some time flipping through them to jog some inspiration. That still didn’t help much. So I went online and ordered this book– I don’t even know how I stumbled upon it. They say its good for creative blocks, so I’ll let you know how it is and if it helps when I get it in. Since then though, I’ve been slowly dragging myself out of this damn creative block.

Something I didn’t have a creative block on was the dinner I made last week…

I’m the kind of person that when I go out to eat, if the place has Pad Thai, I get it. I love Pad Thai. Of course some places just don’t do it right but it’s one of my favorite things so I give it a try almost anywhere. So when I came across a recipe for it, well I jumped right on it. I actually tried to make this a few weeks ago but I had a little misunderstanding with a certain squash (more on that in a little bit) so I didn’t get to make it until this week.

So I made this dish the other night and really, words just can’t describe. It was awesome! Like I said, I attempted to make this a few weeks ago so I already knew the Chicken Pad Thai part of it was awesome but the whole thing put together with the squash was seriously good. And yes, I mean seriously good. If you like Pad Thai at all you have to try this. I almost think my version of it was better than any Pad Thai I’ve had out anywhere and this didn’t have pasta noodles, which is much better for you =)

What you need:

  • 1 large Spaghetti Squash (it’s literally called a Spaghetti Squash so make sure you get the right one)
  • 2-4 chicken breasts
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp soy sause
  • Red pepper flakes
  • S & P

Garnishes (optional)

  • Dry roasted peanuts, chopped (I highly recommend)
  • Scallions, chopped (I highly recommend)
  • Cilantro

1. Preheat oven 350 and line a baking sheet with foil. Cut your SPAGHETTI SQUASH in half lengthwise and scrape away the seeds. Sprinkle with S & P and roast for about 40-60 minutes depending on how big your SPAGHETTI SQAUSH is.

Okay, so here’s my SPAGHETTI SQUASH story. I may blog about a lot of different recipes and talk about food like I know what I’m saying but really, I don’t. I found that out the other week when I attempted this recipe for the first time. Now, I’d heard of spaghetti squash but I thought it was only “known” by that because of how it looks like spaghetti when its forked out, and it is but I didn’t know it was literally called spaghetti squash, like that’s what the sign reads in the store. Well, long story short, I ended up with Chicken Pad Thai, no noodles and a cooked squash I had no intention of consuming as a side dish. Second time around I was more successful…

2. Give yourself about 15-20 minutes before the squash is done then start to cook your chicken breasts however you’d like. You can bake or saute. I chose to saute with a little bit of S & P and garlic (if you use garlic in this step refrain from the garlic in the sauce). Set chicken aside.

3. In another pan while the chicken is cooking, saute some garlic (if you haven’t used it already) for 1 minute. Add the chicken broth, peanut butter, soy sauce, rice vinegar and red pepper flakes. Heat until it becomes a smooth sauce, stirring occasionally.

4. Wait 5 minutes after the squash comes out of the oven, then you can use a fork to scoop out the guts. It should be tender and very easy and come out in little spaghetti-like strands. Once all the guts are out add the squash to your sauce. Add your chicken to the sauce and mix together until its all coated.

5. Plate your portions and sprinkle with garnishes. And enjoy a freaking awesome meal.

Spaghetti Squash Chicken Pad Thai

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash Chicken Pad Thai

Leave a Reply

