Pineapple Curry Chicken Salad

Dinners, Humor, Life

A few years ago I took some time off from college and moved up to New York (not NYC, for some reason when you tell people you live in NY they assume you live in NYC, like that’s the whole state or something..) to be a live in nanny. It was probably one of the best journeys I’ve ever had. My main goal in taking a year off from school was to “find myself”, so cliche- I know.

But I learned a lot in that year and fell in love with two of the cutest boys I’ll ever know.

Lucas making pizza via Design with InfluenceChristian making a pizza via Design with Influence

It was hard to get them to cook with me without shoving something in their mouth.. but hey isn’t that every little kid. Plus they loved cheese.. again- who doesn’t..

I did the cooking for the family and sometimes had a little help =) Unfortunately I didn’t realize then, how much I really did like to cook. They had a few “family favorites” that I cooked pretty often and a few of them became my favorites as well. When I was preparing to leave after a year I wrote down some of the recipes I liked and then, of course, I lost the piece of paper I wrote them on. But at least some of my favorites I made pretty often so I’m pretty sure when I tried writing them down eventually that I was pretty close. I made one of these recipes a few days ago and, well it was just as good as I remembered.

Pineapple Curry Chicken Salad

what you need:

3 boneless skinless chicken breast
1/2c mayo and greek yogurt mixture (see directions)
1 can pineapple chucks
1 can water chestnuts
1c halved green grapes
1/3c crushed almonds
1Tbsp curry powder
1Tbsp lemon juice

Chicken Salad Ingredients via Design with Influence

Forget to include the almonds in the picture.. whoops.

what you need to do:

1. I crock potted my chicken but feel free to boil it or whatever you like for chicken salad. Crock pot the chicken for 4-6 hours on low or 6-8 on high. Once the chicken is done, shred it and let it cool

2. The rest is pretty easy, its mostly just throwing everything in together.

The mayo and greek yogurt is up to you. The original recipe I made this with had no greek yogurt but I’m trying to be healthy remember.. I added more mayo than greek yogurt this time because I wasn’t sure how it would taste. I’ve made chicken salad with just greek yogurt before but added hummas too so I was afraid to go all greek this time. Next time however, I think I’ll change the portions up a bit and add more greek yogurt than mayo but in total I would stick to around 1/2 cup.

To this mixture add the lemon juice and curry powder. Throw the chicken in and give it a mix. Drain your pineapple, cut your grapes in half and give your water chestnuts a chop so they aren’t full slices and add them to the mix.

3. The final step is to add the almonds. I buy sliced almonds and throw them in the blender for a bit. These are what makes the whole dish. It gives it the crunch factor. You can add them all at once or you can add them per serving when its eaten.. up to you. Also feel free to add as much of these as you want- it really is the best part.

Mix it all together and enjoy. This is so good you can just eat it by itself, no bread or anything. But be careful. Its addicting!

Pineapple Curry Chicken Salad via Design with Influence

One thought on “Pineapple Curry Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

