Happy (belated) Halloween

Desserts, Hors doeuvres, Recipes

Hope everyone had a safe and happy halloween. I just wanted to share a few halloween treats I made. I made this Pumpkin Cake for work yesterday…

Pumpkin Cake

Pumpkin Cake via Design with Influence

What you need:

  • 2 boxes of whatever kind of cake you want (the obvious choice is to go with pumpkin spice cake, I’m not a fan of pumpkin spice cake so I went with vanilla. I would just steer away from any heavy cake because you wouldn’t want it collapse on itself)
  • 2 tubs of whipped vanilla (you can go with an orange icing if you want, I just could only find orange cream which I didn’t want)
  • red and yellow icing color
  • 2 chocolate ice cream cones (a full box cost me $1.50)
  • Rainbow twizzlers (a full bag was $1.50)

What to do:

  1. Generously spray your bundt pan. Bake each cake according to package. I popped each cake in the fridge for about 10 minutes to quickly pop it out and pop the next cake in.
  2. Put about 1-1 1/2 tubs of icing in a mixing bowl. This involves a little experimenting.. The box of color called you 6 yellow to 2 red. Wrong. I added much more red than I did yellow but just experiment a little. And make what ever shade of orange you want.
  3. When both cakes are cooled, turned them both so they are sitting like they did in the pan. Slice some cake off the top of each one, so that they are flatter. Add a thin layer of icing to Cake 1. Make sure your cakes are cooled because icing a sliced cake is hard. When Cake 1 is iced, flip Cake 2 over on top of Cake 1. You should see the pumpkin resemblance… If not, you did something wrong.
  4. To icing the outside of the cake I used one of those plastic spatulas. Start with blobs of icing on the top and work your way down and around until the entire cake is iced.
  5. To make the cone stay better (the whole in the center of the bundt pan was wider than I thought it would be) I placed one cone right side up on the cake platter and then I put the other cone upside down on top of it. I also throw a bunch more icing around the cone to fill in the space. (Hope everyone likes icing!)
  6. The twizzlers were the tricky part. I wanted them to spiral a little and they just wouldn’t cooperate, so I wrapped them around a bottle and put them in the freezer for a little bit. Worked like a charm.
  7. Enjoy!

I also made this fun guy too…

Puking Pumpkin Guac

Puking Pumpkin Guac via Design with Influence

What you need:

  • A freshly carved pumpkin with a big month
  • Gauc

What you do:

  1. I trust you to figure it out =)
One thought on “Happy (belated) Halloween

Leave a Reply

