Plan Post: That’s a heck of a grocery list…

Dinners, Recipes

A few weeks ago I posted about my crockpot challenge adventure. I must admit I’m a little behind on posting, but I have actually been completing the challenge, so I’m finally getting to posting about it.

I narrowed my long list of choices down to 4. Then I thought, oh hell… why not 6? Here are the ones I chose (some aren’t from the original list):

  • Beef Stew (not as healthy as I would like but I’ve been dying to make this)
  • Tex Mex Shredded Chicken
  • Turkey Chili
  • Stuffed Pepper Soup
  • Spaghetti Squash and Meatballs
  • Chicken, Potato, Quinoa Soup

From there I had to create my shopping list, which is not a easy feat, I might add. What I found easiest, was to copy each recipe into a Word doc and start a new doc for my list. I started with the first recipe and added each ingredient to my blank doc and the amount. Then I went through each recipe and added on the amount if the item was already on my list and added the ingredient if it wasn’t. I know, I know, there’s probably an app out there for that, right? Actually, I have it. But the app also requires you to add each recipe to it’s database and then also specify the amount for each ingredient. Sometimes technology isn’t as easy as copy and paste… No, but seriously it’s a great app for normal grocery shopping.

Originally I was going to go to BJ’s because I thought wholesale would be better but I didn’t actually end up needing an excessive amount of anything in particular so I just went to Giant. I had to use one of those actual sized carts, instead of my usual halfy. You would also think that I would have taken a picture waiting in line too, since I used an actual checkout line instead of my usual self-checkout but I forgot, whoops. You’ll just have to see all the food in my kitchen in my next post.

Here is my shopping list (it’s quite impressive):

Produce

  • Onions 5
  • Peppers 3
  • Jalapenos 2
  • Baby Carrots 2lb
  • Sweet Potatoes 2
  • Potatoes 1lb + 4-5 singles
  • Frozen corn 3 c

Meat

  • Chicken 6lbs
  • Ground Turkey 4.5lb
  • Beef 2lb roast

Starch

  • Quinoa 2 c
  • Rice 1 c

Dairy

  • Eggs

Sauce

  • Tomato can diced 75 oz + spicy one
  • Spicy diced tomato
  • Tomato Sauce 23 oz
  • Beef Broth 6 c
  • Chicken Broth 11 c
  • Worcestershire 1tbsp
  • Can Mushrooms 4oz
  • Red wine ¾ c

Seasonings

  • Salt 2tsp
  • Pepper ½ tsp
  • Thyme ½ tsp
  • Garlic 4 tsp
  • Chili powder 7 tsp
  • Parsley ¼ c
  • Basil ½ tsp
  • Oregano ½ tsp
  • Garlic Powder 2 ½ tsp
  • Onion Powder 2 tsp
  • Cumin 2 tsp
  • Red Pepper Flakes ½ tsp
  • Paprika 1 tsp
  • Flour 3/4 c
  • Brown Sugar 1 tbsp
  • Oil

Everything that’s bold are the ingredients I knew I already had in my house (yes, I had 75 oz of diced tomatoes in my kitchen.. don’t ask).

Stay tuned for the actual trip and the mess I made in the kitchen.. No, surprisingly I didn’t make much of a mess at all. Except for when I almost dumped an entire meal on the floor… Hmm, story to follow..

Leave a Reply

